Byways 2021: A project of the Scenic Byways Coalition and America’s Byways Resource Center

The National Scenic Byways Program is 15!

Linking Accomplishments of the Past to the
Promise of the Future

The National Scenic Byways Program 1991/2006/2021:
A Celebration and A Look Ahead

We invite you to help mark the 15th Anniversary of Byways in America in Washington, D.C. On December 11, the Scenic Byways Coalition, in cooperation with the America’s Byways Resource Center will host The National Scenic Byways Program 1991/2006/2021: A Celebration and Look Ahead. Since its creation within the US Department of Transportation’s Federal Highway Administration in December 1991, 126 routes have been designated as national scenic byways and All-American roads and more than 2,100 byway projects in all 50 states have been funded. The half-day program will showcase these remarkable accomplishments and recognize key byways champions including: U.S. Representatives Jim Oberstar and Tom Petri, U.S. Senator Jay Rockefeller, Secretary of Transportation Mary Peters and former Transportation Secretaries Andrew Card, Federico Pena, Rodney Slater and Norman Mineta.

Date: December 11, 2006
Locations: 1-4 pm: Program The Stephen Decatur House, 1610 H Street, NW
4:30-7 pm: Reception and Awards Ceremony 2167 Rayburn House Office Building
1:00 pm Welcoming Remarks
Derrick Crandall, President and CEO, American Recreation Coalition
1:05 pm Remarks
The Honorable Mary Peters, Secretary of Transportation (invited)
1:25 pm A Drive Down Memory Lane: The History of America’s Byways
2:00 pm The Value of America’s Byways
3:00 pm Byways Accomplishments
4:00 pm Complimentary Shuttle to Rayburn House Office Building
4:30 pm Refreshments Available
5:00 pm America’s Byways Turn 15: A Celebration
Multimedia Presentation: America’s Byways: The First 15 Years
Remarks: The Honorable James Oberstar, United States House of Representatives
5:45 pm Presentation of Awards
Susan Pikrallidas, Vice President, AAA

Information: or 202-682-9530